Occupational Therapy Africa Regional Group


OTARG is an african regional Group of WFOT. It was started with the mission to promote Occupational Therapy in the African Region.

OTARG came into existance in 1996 during  the 22nd WFOT council meeting in Nairobi when Occupatonal therapists at that forum from all over the world supported the concept of starting an Africa regional group of the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT).

The inauguration of OTARG took place in Durban, South Africa in 1996. The meeting was financially sponsored by WFOT. Delegates also attended the OTASA National Congress by invitation. 

This event was convened by Rosemary Crouch, South African(OTASA)Delegate to WFOT and Chairman of WFOT Education Committee at that time.

OTARG started with 9 African countries as its original member Countries namely;  Botswana, Kenya, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe. 

This number has grown to 17 by 2014 as more African countries continue to join the forum. OTARG has got individual delegates in each of these countries todate.

The first elected OTARG Executive included; 

Chairman: Justine Nanyonjo, Uganda, Vice Chairman: Jacqueline Laurent Mauritius, Secretary:James Botela, Kenya, 

Treasurers: Rosemary Crouch & Ann Nott, South Africa. 

OTARG holds biennual International congresses. 

The 1st OTARG International Congress was held at Grand Bay in Mauritius in July 1999. The theme was “ The 2000 challenge. OT in Africa.”


Read More  

The latest was the 9th International OTARG congress was held in Kampala in Uganda in September 2015. 

The Theme was "Transforming Healthcare in Africa; A move towards Occupation"

  Read More

The Next OTARG International Congress wil be Held in Rwanda 2019